top of page
  • Writer's pictureLari Jean

Tortilla Soup Recipe



Doing what I do best, (I'm not a recipe follower) I combined several recipes to get this yummy tortilla soup! Once I cooked the chicken, it only took about 20 minutes to finish simmering on the stove. This soup is not only SO flavorful, but the colors are SO pretty and vibrant! Not to mention that it smells like a Mexican joint up in hereeeee!


(This recipe can also be modified a little bit for a crockpot, I just didn't have my chicken thawed in time and wasn't sure about the extra water in the crockpot from chicken that was frozen. 4 hours on high or 8 hours on low.)


Ingredients:

-3 chicken breasts (you could use a couple more-- I just used the last of a bag I had in the freezer)

-1 packet of ranch seasoning

-1 15 oz. can of sweet corn

-1 15 oz. can of black beans

-2 15 oz. cans of diced chili-ready tomatoes with onion (they're in chunks)

-32 oz. of chicken broth

-1 1/2 green bell peppers, diced

-2 tsp. chili powder

-1 tsp. cumin

-1 tsp. salt

-1 tsp. black pepper

Optional Toppings:

sour cream, cilantro, shredded cheese, avocado, tortilla chips


1. I thawed the chicken breasts in the fridge while I was at work today, but it wasn't quite unfrozen by the time I got home.

2. Cook the chicken. You could use pre-cooked chicken from a leftover, a rotisserie chicken, or cook your chicken in the skillet like I did.

3. Shred the chicken. I threw mine into my KitchenAid mixer, like Christine suggested here.

4. Combine all ingredients into large soup pot, and stir together over a medium-high heat.

5. Once the soup starts to boil, place the lid on top and let simmer for 15 minutes (**I ended up adding another 10-ish minutes because I wanted the tomato chunks a little more soft**)

7. Serve with tortilla chips, sour cream, shredded cheese, cilantro, avocado, or any other Mexican toppings you can think of!


adios,

ljh



18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page