top of page
  • Writer's pictureChristine

Keep on Going

I want to talk to you guys about perseverance today. This word has been on my mind a lot lately. The past few years, and still currently in my life - this word means a lot to me . And in this current chapter of feeling like I'm in 'limbo' with what comes next, it's taking on a whole new meaning for me.



It's been almost two years since my husband died, and you can all guess the reasons I've needed perseverance since then. The (almost) three years leading up to that, I was really sick with Ulcerative Colitis and went through six months of surgeries. Again, obvious reasons of needing perseverance. This current chapter -while trying to have a balance of still dealing with losing my husband on a daily basis, and also trying to move forward with my life - a new perspective of perseverance has shown up. This one, it seems like God is yelling 'wait, slow down, grow, learn, be patient.' For those of you who know me personally, the words 'wait, slow down, and patient' don't describe me. This season is tough, but tough some Bible devotionals, quotes, and friends, I have some insights that I hope will help, if you're going through something similar.


First I want to start with the fact that I am not always positive about this subject - you can ask my sister and my best friends - I've been whining about it lately (sometimes). BUT, as long as you don't stay negative, pity party, and whining all the time - then it's okay to let it out when you need to. I try to change my attitude and my perspective when these negative emotions start to consume me. That's part of why I'm writing this for you today - it's something that you, and even I, can come and read when we need an attitude adjustment.


Some of my favorite Bible devotionals (from the You Version Bible app) that have helped me gather these topics include: Trust Through the Trials, The Part of God's Will No One Wants, Waiting on the Lord, While you Wait, and Everybody Wants to Win but Nobody Wants to Wait.


What is our attitude while we wait on God? Waiting on our future spouse, a promotion, a child, a new home, a new friendship. Are we cranky? Frustrated? Distracted? I am praying for, and learning to yield to God, letting him fully take the situation into his hands. Because the Creator of this world wants to take care of you, because he loves you. I think some of the best things to pray about, focus on, keep perspective with in this type of season is: obedience, trust, patience, commitment, thankfulness, purpose. If you stop trying to take over and fight God for what YOU want at THIS time, he will be able to direct your paths and give you what he has planned for you, which is always good, in his perfect timing.

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. -Romans 8:28

I am a person on the go, constantly. I do a lot of things for myself #selfcare but I like to take care of others, I like to fix things (and people), I like to be busy. Right now, in a season of feeling in limbo of what comes next? When is it going to happen? Where is my future husband? Am I getting too old? Is being a widow going to scare people off? A few of my friends and family think at this point in time, I need to take time to be alone and heal. Work on the healing anyway, because does it actually ever heal completely? I doubt it, but I also know God can heal much deeper wounds than we even realize. Joyce Meyer says in times of waiting, "Trust God, and do good." Do good for you, for others, for God. You shouldn't want to do good things so that God will give you something in return -- I'm saying (and Joyce is saying), do good BECAUSE of God. Because you love him, you will do good and love others.


Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. -Philippians 4:6

(I might be all over the place with this post, I have so many thoughts and emotions on this subject right now. I'm personally experiencing a lot with all of this and it may be jumbled, but I hope it helps anyway!)


You know when I said earlier I'm not always positive with this stuff? Sometimes I'm tired. I'm mentally, emotionally, and spiritually tired. I ask God 'why' do I have to go through even MORE struggles? Haven't I had enough? Well let me tell you, God knows best. He didn't ask you if you liked the trials. Just like a parent doesn't have to ask their child's permission to make them eat vegetables - they make them do it anyway, because they know it's healthy and good for them. God knows what is healthy and best for you. You are his child, and he wants to take care of you. He didn't need to get my permission first before he let me get sick, or lose my husband, or not be at the point in my life where I thought I'd be at this age. These things have shaped me, they have changed me, I'm a different person. I am a stronger spiritual warrior, a different friend, a different person. The person God created me to be in this stage. He is with you as you climb those mountains and walk through those valleys, HELPING to shape you into the person he wants to further his kingdom. Into the person that someone in your life in the future is going to need. You are here for a purpose. These trials are to grow you into the person needed for that purpose.


Awhile ago, when I was still fighting my own body with Ulcerative Colitis, trying dozens of medicines that didn't make it any better, I asked God daily "why". A wonderful woman I go to church with was testifying about a trial she had in her life, and she said "God told me it is not WHY I let this happen to you, it is for WHOM." Someone needs you in their life. Someone is relying on you to listen to what God wants you to do, grow into the Christian you need to be, because they will need you at some point to help them. Let me tell you why I was sick for so long before I was able to have surgery to [partially] fix my Ulcerative Colitis *I say partially because surgery is not a cure, but that's a rant for another day* --- the reason is that God was preparing me. He was preparing me for the worst thing that has ever happened to me: losing my husband. Being sick for that long, every single day, all day long, for years, that changes you. That changed my mindset, my relationship with God, my relationship with my husband, my attitude. It brought Colby and I closer together, it changed him. Unconditional love was abounding in our home. God was giving me groundwork for what was to come. Do I think this season is any different? No. Trials, struggles, waiting = growth, prayer, perseverance.


We shall reap if we do not grow weary. - Galatians 6:9

Your struggles are not for nothing. God has a purpose for everything, whether you can see it or not. Whether you EVER get to see it or not. Even if you're tired - keep on going. God plants a seed in us, and we WILL see a harvest if we cling to him, stay strong in him, be obedient in him. Stay persistent. Pray. Listen. Don't lose heart. Good things are coming if you keep on keeping on. And I highly suggest to do it with thanksgiving. God takes care of you, he loves you.


I will hope continually, and will praise you yet more and more. - Psalm 71:14

Something I've heard a million times the past few years - God's timing is perfect, wait for God, God knows best. Yes I know all of that, but why is so easy to fight against it? The enemy wants us to listen to our culture, scroll through social media - read all these things about doing it for yourself, being independent, focus on you, self-care, be strong, fix your crown. I'm not saying any of this is wrong - you'll see me hashtag those words too - what I'm getting at is that the enemy wants us to think we have to do this alone. Without God. I'll tell you right now - I'm more thankful than anything that I'm a born again Christian that doesn't have to go through life with God, because if I did....oh my. What a disaster it would be. And lonely, and unsure, and depressing. With God there is hope. And in that - I believe you have to be obedient while continually hoping and trusting. Trusting in his timing is tough. But if you knew everything before it happened, what would be the point in faith? Our self-will and independence need to be broken so that God is able to 100% work in your life without you getting in the way and trying to do it your way. You shouldn't try and 'help' God by telling him what to do in your life. He is directing your steps and the timing will be perfect. He's preparing you, preparing someone else to meet you, preparing a situation that you will become a part of - in the right time.


The Message bible says in Ephesians 3: 20-21

God can do anything, you know-far more than you could ever imagine or guess or request in your wildest dreams! He does it not by pushing us around but by working within us, his Spirit deeply and gently with us.

I mentioned thanksgiving earlier? Also be joyful - be joyful that God can do ANYTHING, and that he is growing you for something. That you mean so much to him that he wants you a part of his plan.

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters,[a] whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. -James 1:2-4

Y'all, I could go on and on because I have so much more to share. And I will. But for now- trust God, do good, be obedient, and keep a positive attitude. You can do hard things. You can be strong. Our trials do not define us, but how we respond to those trials do.



If you are needing guidance or prayer, you can always email us - we are all strong Christian women who want to be there for our readers, we do this whole blog to help add value to other's lives.


Love,

Christine

78 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page