top of page
  • Writer's pictureLari Jean

How to Preserve Fresh Flowers



This may come across as very random, but as most of us have extra time on our hands, some of you may want to try this now or save for the future. I was just walking around the house finding things that needed done & remembered my dried wedding bouquet hanging in the closet. I then realized I have quite a bit of dried flowers in our house! There's something so day-brightening about fresh flowers, and they're SO expensive, so why not preserve them and extend the joy? I use them for decorations all over. I will show you some arrangements I have made, but first I'll tell you how I do it! There is not one certain way to do this, and this probably isn't perfect, but it's worked for me every time.


1. tie your flowers together at the stem with string. Any kind of string will work-- jute or any multipurpose string, heck, probably even a shoestring.

2. hairspray them with cheap hairspray (I don't really use hairspray that much, so all of mine is cheap!). A LOT. And spray one more time for good measure. If it's nice weather, I would do this outside so your space doesn't get sticky.

3. find a dark place to hang them upside down. Yes, you hang them upside down! I tied mine onto the rod in my coat closet where there is no light.

4. leave them hanging upside down, in the dark, for at least 2-3 weeks. you can check them periodically, but you won't want to touch them too much.

5. enjoy your dried flowers for days to come!


This first one on the left is a compilation of flowers from Hunter from two Valentine's Days ago, and wedding bouquet flowers (arrangement on the coffee table). The middle arrangement is in an old watering can from my Pa, and the flowers are some from my Granny's funeral (over 3 years ago), which is why there is nothing else in there with them (this is on the main bathroom counter). The last arrangements are dried flowers from my wedding bouquet that I put in some old glass bottles that Hunter found. They are inside old graters of my Granny's (this is in the dining room).


Xoxo,

ljh

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page