top of page
  • Writer's pictureLari Jean

Confessions of a Clearance Queen vol. 2

Dressing for that awkward season between summer and fall can be tricky-- especially if you live in Missouri where it's 50 degrees in the morning, 90 degrees in the afternoon, and back down to 60 degrees that night! I am a summer girl, through and through, but when the weather starts cooling off, the wardrobe must be adjusted (ya girl can't handle being cold). I like to take pieces that I already have, and slightly adjust them to fit the needs of that day (depending on the weather). This allows me to get more bang for my clearance buck! 😏 When it gets cooler, I like to dress in layers so that I can take off things as it warms up.


I'm going to apologize in advance for the lighting in my bedroom... I've gotta start taking my #ootd pics somewhere else!

Just One ❤️ brand Denim Dress: bought on a Facebook sale, Franco Sarto brown leather wedges: Shoe Dept. Photography: Hunter😍

How is this a transitional piece? This is transitional, because in summer (or early fall) I can wear it alone with wedges. In late fall, I can add a little jacket. In winter or spring, I can wear it with a cardigan, booties, or I've even worn it with leggings and tall boots.


Black Ruffle Tee: Banana Republic Factory, Cropped Jumpsuit: Old Navy, Black Sandals: Walmart

This cropped jumpsuit is taking me from summer (worn without the shirt underneath) right into fall (and making it school appropriate) simply by adding a ruffle tee underneath. I have also thrown a jean jacket over this and worn with brown leather wedges. I kid you not, I bought this jumpsuit from the Old Navy clearance rack for 2.97 or something CRAZY like that!



Olive Peplum Jacket: Agnes and Dora, Swing Dress: Old Navy, White Mules: TOMS

This Old Navy swing dress (FAV) can be instantly fall friendly by adding a jacket (it's not acid washed, sorry for the sunlight) and some mules. I also love to add leggings, a cardigan, and boots or booties to these dresses when it gets cold outside. I have this dress in a mustard and white stripe, and it looks ADORABLE underneath a jean jacket.



Sleeveless Sweater (A New Day brand): Target, Cheetah Print Belt: Old Navy, Black Skinnies: Old Navy, Tan Loafers: Sperry

I really loved coaching in this outfit this week! The light sleeveless sweater was perfect for the freezing cold gym, and I could easily throw on a denim jacket over this to make it wearable in cooler weather. I love how the belt makes the outfit look finished! Don't underestimate the power of a tuck + belt combo.



Baseball Tee: Old Navy, Denim: Banana Republic Factory, Shoes: LOL (I threw on my Birks before I left the house.)

I love LOVE LOVE a good baseball tee when the nights get cooler. This probably would've been too hot for me during the day, but this was just a casual birthday dinner outfit at night. In colder weather, I could add a cardigan over the top of this for some extra warmth, and booties to dress it up a bit (or tennies to keep it casual).


These outfits were nothing special, but I hope they've given you some inspiration to look at your closet with a fresh set of eyes. Take those summer dresses and throw on a jacket/blazer/or cardi, or put a cute tee under your strappy summer jumpsuits! I'd love to hear any transitional wardrobe tips in the comments, if you have any you'd like to share!


xoxo,

ljs


31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page