top of page
  • Writer's pictureLari Jean

Confessions of a Clearance Queen vol. 1

Updated: Sep 12, 2019

There is nothing better knowing that you look nice in the outfit that you're wearing today. But how do you do it without busting your budget? Here are some tips for looking your best, on a clearance rack budget.


Tip No. 1: DIG through that clearance rack, sister! My closet is at least 80% clearance rack. Clearance racks typically don't have a vast variety of sizes, but if you're like me, I can wear a small or XS, and there are usually quite a few options left. Here is a photo of a dress from #OldNavy, that you can see was originally $39.99, marked down to $2.97. YES, TWO NINETY SEVEN. I love it's silhouette, and thought it would be super versatile to wear in the fall with little booties (wedges if you live in Southeast Missouri and it's still HOT in the fall) or in the winter with leggings, tall boots, and a scarf.

This brings me to Tip No 2: DON'T pay full price! I'm not saying don't ever pay full price, but I'm saying I don't do it often. If there's a closet staple that I really know will be worth the cost per wear, then I don't mind. Just don't make it a habit. I try to buy my summer clothes in the fall/winter when they go on sale, and vise versa for buying fall/winter clothes in the spring and summer months. Keep an eye out for sales, and train yourself to wait until something goes on sale or you have a coupon.

If I'm shopping online, I like to go to the clearance section and use the "sort" button to sort the items from low price to high price.



Tip No. 3: BUY kids' shoes if you have small feet. My #Chacos are a summer MUST HAVE. I live in them for days on the boat, river, or just playing outside. Adult Chacos are about 50% more than the kids. Since I wear a size 6 in Womens, I can wear a size 4 in kids Chacos.


Tip No. 4: USE a site that gives you cash back. At Walmart, #Ibotta is a good one (just ask Christine!). For shopping onlilne, I LOVE #Ebates which is now called #Rakuten. I have earned $91.52 (and I honestly don't shop online a ton) with Rakuten. You can install a button on your toolbar that will make an Rakuten window pop up when you're on a site that you can earn cash back from. Sometimes you just have to buy something, but at least you can get a little money back in return. I really love to use it on Cyber Monday and other times like that where I am sure to be spending online and earning cash back. It's so easy to use. Click here to sign up with my referral code! We both get rewarded if you use it!



Tip No. 5: FIND a coupon or WAIT until something goes on sale. I like to use #RetailMeNot, because they typically have coupons that actually work! Patience is a virtue, especially when you want a bargain! Sometimes you just have to have a conversation with yourself. "Do I really have to have this RIGHT NOW, or can it wait until it's at a lower price?"


Tip No. 6: LOOK at consignment stores. The most unique pieces in my closet have been found from consignment or thrift stores. In Cape Girardeau, MO, I have found several things (including jeans that fit-- which are SO hard to find at an affordable price) at #PlatosCloset. In the Memphis, TN area, I really like #ClothesMentor (they have really high-end consignment stores). If you're local, I've shopped with my mom at #FashionExchange in Dexter, MO and found some really cute bargains.


I hope these tips help you to find your inner Clearance Queen! My favorite thing about clearance rack shopping is bragging to people about how cheap I got something and trying to help them find good deals! Stay tuned for the other girls' posts about how they find good deals and look AMAZING!


xoxo,

ljs

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page