top of page

Tips for Traveling with Littles

I am definitely not an expert, but I can only hope these simple tips might make a long trip just a tiny bit more simple for you.



ENTERTAINMENT


I always pack them a small backpack full of toys and we are fortunate enough to have tablets that we allow them to watch videos on and play games during the trip.


SNACKS AND DRINKS


I pack snacks and drinks ahead of time and make sure we have plenty of options. Buying snacks on the road can be so expensive, so this helps cut cost and also helps me feel a little more prepared when I hear a little fussing. I also bring sippy cups on trips for the kids to use to avoid them spilling any of their drinks on the road. Another option would be to use Capri-sun type packaged juice. Quick and easy to poke a straw in and toss it back!




Leaving EARLY



Let me reiterate that, leave as early as possible. Try to get enough sleep to get you through the trip, but leave early enough so the kids will go back to sleep. I also HATE driving at night because it just feels like the trip is never ending. If I leave before sunrise, I drive into daylight and it just makes me feel like I am getting somewhere. It also gives us more time to spend with family once we arrive.




PREP THE KIDS



I like to go ahead and put kids in their road trip jammies the night before and when it’s time to leave in the morning (I like to leave around 1-2AM), I just change diapers and load them in the vehicle. I also keep a pair of slippers in their diaper bag for them to wear whenever we stop. Keeping them in the diaper bag is IMPORTANT. They will just kick them off in their seats, and then it’s a hassle to dig for them whenever we stop. So I’ve found that keeping them aside where it’s easy for me to find works best.




PACK THE NIGHT BEFORE



Not just your bag, I mean the entire vehicle - whether you are leaving for your destination or coming back home. If you wait till the day of, that’s just waisted time that could have been spent driving. It also makes an easy transition with the kids. There’s no worry of waking them going in and out of a house and when you wake them up, you can just get them in the car and get going.




THE FOUR HOUR RULE



If at all possible, try not to stop more than every 4 hours. Every 2 hours is okay, but every time you stop on the trip, especially with kids, costs you 45 minutes minimum. So basically you are adding another hour to your trip. Kids might get a little restless, but that’s where entertainment and snacks come in hand. They will be more restless the longer they have to be on the trip, and continuously stopping just prolongs that and causes more restlessness. Of course, I still have two kids in diapers, so the potty is not an issue. Once I have experience in that, I’ll try to make sure this rule can still apply 😆



For now, this is the most useful advice I have to give. The best of luck on your future endeavors and prayers for a peaceful and safe road trip!

Yours,

Ashley

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page