top of page
  • Writer's pictureLari Jean

Linewife Life


Not my photo, but it's a goal of mine to get some pics of H like this!

Happy Saturday, y'all! It's been a while!


I don't think I've ever talked about it much on here, but Hunter is a lineman. I had someone ask me once when I mentioned his occupation, "Football or electrical?" LOL. He's an electrical lineman. I'm so proud of him, as he's continued to move up the ranks and done very well. What they do is HOT in the summer, freezing cold in the winter, and it's tough year round. Linemen go around the surrounding counties from which the companies represent, and "Dig holes and set poles", as Hunter always says. Most recently, they've been working in our area getting everything ready for fiber internet.


A lot of people don't know that linemen also have to be ready to pack their bags and go at a minute's notice. When we get a severe storm in the area, it doesn't matter if it's Friday night and he just got off work. If there's a storm and their crew is called on, they have to go. Not only do they help people in the surrounding counties, but they also help people in the southernmost parts of the United States when there's a tropical storm, hurricane, or even a tornado (Hunter's been to Texas a few times after hurricane damage).


Being a linewife means that you had also better be ready to drop your plans (hard for us organized gals with our planners attached to our hands), get up in the middle of the night and help him pack his clothes and snacks, show up to events alone because he's gone, hold down the fort while he's away, and most importantly pray without ceasing until he comes back home!


Hunter is currently headed toward tropical storm Isaias. That area is expected to get high winds and heavy rainfall in the next few days (not good for power lines) and they want the crews to be ready to help. Isaias didn't care that we had plans this weekend, or that our weekends before school starts (and cross country starts) are dwindling. It's easy for me to throw myself a pity party whenever he leaves (especially when we had plans... usually friends' weddings are during hurricane season, so I've shown up to many a wedding minus my hot lineman 😉. We joke that had we tried to have an actual wedding with people, he would've had to miss it for a storm 😂), but instead I'm trying to see the good.


It's hard when your person is gone, but I am so thankful that God gave me Hunter, and that he's in my life to miss. I am so thankful for the good relationship we have and that we are able to have this beautiful life together. I'm so thankful that we have been on fun trips and spent lots of time with family and friends. Especially in the summer and I'm here for most of the day, I get so excited to hear his work truck pull up in the evenings after work. Sadly, I often get so used to our routine when he's here, that I am not in "thankfulness mode". When he's gone, I am immediately reminded of how full my heart is when he is here and we get to spend weekends having fun together, hiking, gardening, or in the water somewhere.


Instead of remaining a guest at my pity party, I've decided to leave, and focus on thankfulness. I'm trying to focus my extra time on my relationship with God, planning, self-reflection, personal development, etc. Things that I normally don't spend enough time doing. Being first a lineman's girlfriend, and now a linewife, let me just tell you, my prayer life is GOOD (especially when he's gone on storm). I am talking to God all the time, every time I catch myself missing him, and praying for his safety on the drive down and while they're in the middle of the storm. I'm very thankful for his job, and I'm thankful that he gets to do something he enjoys. It's by far not the easiest job he could choose, but it's challenging, he gets to keep learning every day, and it has good pay and benefits.


Today, I am also praying for you. Whatever storm you may be in the midst of right now, I pray that you will be comforted with the peace that only comes from Jesus Christ. I pray that you would find relaxation for your soul by turning to God and handing over your worries and doubts to him.

Happy weekend, friends! Make the most out of these days we've been given.


xoxo,

ljh


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page