top of page
  • Writer's pictureLari Jean

Start Somewhere


This was me in 2017, and then a year later in 2018.

Beginning. This word can sound equal parts terrifying & freeing. I know how scary it can be to start something new. Something that may be harder than what we're used to, something we may struggle with or even fail at doing. Two things that I think are important to remember:


1. Everyone was a beginner at some point. That bikini competitor on your Instagram feed with rock hard abs-- she was a beginner. That guy that runs full marathons-- he was a beginner too. All people at the pinnacle of their lives/careers/fitness journeys HAD TO START SOMEWHERE.


Therefore, the excuses "I don't know", or "I'm a beginner", or "I don't have time" are invalid. Someone who knows less about it than you, took a leap of faith one day and began to reach their goals. Someone with less experience than you got off the couch one evening and said "I'll give it a try". Someone with a busier life (I know, we can't fathom someone with a busier life than the one we live-- but believe me-- there are people doing WAY more in 24 hours than even I am as a full time teacher/coach/girlfriend) than you said "that (whatever it may be) is a priority for me, so I will make time".


Get a personal trainer, join a gym, watch a freaking YouTube video and LEARN how to do that exercise that you don't know how to do. There are endless resources to point you in the right direction, and while I am still learning more everyday, I'd be more than happy to help you myself or find another resource that would benefit you.


2. How will you ever know what you are capable of if you won't ever BEGIN? How will you know what challenges you can conquer if you are only willing to stay in your comfort zone? How will you be satisfied without having goals to reach towards? Take the leap, friends! No one else is going to do it for you. Start today- whether that be making time to read your bible, making time for the gym, making time to spend with your family, or cutting out time that you spend on things not benefitting your mind, body, and soul.


Xoxo,

ljs


50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page