top of page
  • Writer's pictureChristine

New Year, New Meal Prep

Okay, so that title may be just catchy, not that actual truth. I PLANNED on making a new meal prep recipe - a Paleo chicken and broccoli stir fry that Amelia found and loved. However, I didn't have all the ingredients, so I made my normal stir fry (recipe below).


I am also trying to get items out of my deep freezer, hopefully to make room for some grass-fed beef we are all going in together on to buy from my family farm --can we say Organic?? So, that being said - these turkey burgers are from Schwan's, paired with roasted broccoli & Parmesan. But I'm going to give you the recipe for my home-made turkey burgers instead!


Chicken Stir Fry: High protein, and low fat and low carb if you don't eat it with rice (sometimes I do anyway--if it fits in your macros!)

+2 Chicken breasts, diced, thrown in the skillet with 1 Tbsp of EVOO

+1 bag of Great Value deluxe stir-fry vegetables, thrown in the skillet with 1 Tbsp of EVOO

+Bragg's aminos (healthier replacement for soy sauce, or get the low-sodium soy sauce for another better replacement)


+Make sure the chicken is cooked through, I make sure my veggies get soft, then I mix them altogether to simmer for a few minutes with the Bragg's aminos for flavor, toss a little garlic and ginger in there - and DONE! Very quick.


Homemade Turkey Burgers: high protein, no carb, low fat

*One note is that I don't get the fat free or 97% fat free ground turkey anymore - I personally didn't like it, and it fell apart when making burgers. I usually go for the 90-95%

+1 lb of ground turkey

+burger seasoning, like Strawberry's

+1/4 cup of bread crumbs (original, Panko, or seasoned if you prefer)


+Mix all this together, pat out the burgers --I use a digital food scale to make sure they're all measured so when I'm eating I don't have to re-measure for My FitnessPal food logs.

+You can choose to grill the burgers outside, OR lay them on the cookie sheet lined with tin foil and throw them in the oven OR toss them in a skillet on the stove. Either way -- I normally start with about 10 minutes on each side, depending on the size of the burgers. Make sure they're cooked to 160 degrees F.


Parmesan Roasted Broccoli:

+Cut up fresh broccoli (if you use frozen, go ahead and cook it in the microwave or on the stove first)

+pan lined with cooking spray

+1/2-1 Tbsp of EVOO

+Sprinkles of shredded/grated Parmesan cheese


+Toss the broccoli and EVOO together to coat it as well as you can. Put the pan in the oven or in this case I used my toaster oven, at 425 degrees F, for about 15 minutes. When it's soft or crunchy (whichever way you like it) - I waited until the edges started to crisp... sprinkle on the cheese, put it back in the oven --but turn the oven OFF -- let the cheese melt, then done!



When I log the Chicken Stir Fry into My FitnessPal, it APPROXIMATELY comes out to be around 119 calories per serving (I divided the whole recipe into 4 servings in this instance), .5G fat, 8G carbs, 19G protein.

That's why I love making this for meal prep- a low calorie and low fat option with a lot of veggies and protein.


Love,

Christine


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page