top of page
  • Writer's pictureLari Jean

It's Not Too Late


In LOVE with these High-Waisted Powerflex 7/8 pants from Fabletics & this Under Armour Long Line sports bra!

Maybe you've gotten off track with your diet, your exercise regimen, your sleep routine, or all of the above. I'm here to tell you-- it happens! You cannot let one bad week, or even a bad month here or there, completely derail you from the goals you want to achieve. You have the power to let your bad week/month be an excuse, or add fuel to your fire. Let that bad week motivate you. Let it make you stronger. Let it be a lesson. It's not too late to move forward. Even if you've never even taken that first step. It's NOT too late.


In the spirit of being transparent with you all, I'm going to tell you about my {birthday} week. Monday before school, I got up and crushed my 3 mile run (for those of you who don't know, I'm training for the St. Jude 1/2 Marathon in December)-- the weather was perfect, I was feeling great. Then at school I started to feel really fatigued and just groggy. I could feel my allergies acting up, like they always do around this time of year. I rarely ever get sick... I'm a pretty tough gal, but I HATE having a sore throat. Anyway, fast forward to Tuesday, and I felt like total junk. My throat hurt to talk (not good for a teacher who probably says 283766755 words a day, or a coach), and I just felt like I was floating through the days. We had volleyball games Monday and Tuesday night, and I allowed the exhaustion/sickness/lack of workouts throw me off of my plan. I didn't run my other 3 mile run or my 4 mile run (granted, my body probably needed the rest, but I'm gonna pay for it on my 5-miler tomorrow), I didn't eat right (I ate ALL the yummy birthday treats, and didn't really feel bad about it, but I'm sure I will tomorrow!) I didn't go to the gym, and I just made it through the week.


I could use this week as an excuse, and say, "well I had a hard week", and continue on with behaviors that are not going to help me reach my goals, or I can give myself this week of being a slacker (maybe I should be nice to myself and call it grace), and PICK IT UP this week. Get back to the plan, sit down and write out my goals, prep my food, plan for each run and each workout, and take my vitamins so it hopefully doesn't happen again.

Sometimes you have to give your body rest when it needs it. You have to (or at least I do) allow yourself to enjoy treats on occasion, especially when it's your birthday :-). But, you also must pick back up where you left off, and not let one bad week/bad month/or even bad year hold you back from reaching the goals you want to achieve.


Your desire to reach your goals must be stronger than your excuses.


I hope y'all have a great weekend spent with people you love! Thanks for reading.

xoxo,

ljs


45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page