top of page
  • Writer's pictureLari Jean

Don't Be SAD, Be BAD!


Tonight's workout felt SO GOOD!


You may have noticed that I have been MIA from the website for a while! First off, let me tell you that I am a plant. I need water, air, and sunlight (and a few people-- that's basically it) 😂. I am just now straightening myself out from this crazy time change that gets me every year. I love this time of year only because of the holidays. I HATE it being dark all the time and I hate not being able to do things outside (because I can't stand to be cold). Now, that sounds awfully negative, but I'm using it to make myself aware so that I can be better!


I was sick two weeks ago, and so I missed several runs and gym sessions because A. I didn't want to, and B. I felt like CRAP. One thing lead to another, and before long I was curling up on the couch every evening after school not doing ANYTHING because I was so exhausted. Like fall asleep at 6:00 on the couch tired (part of it I'm sure is just from being a teacher, but I'm definitely not that tired in the warmer months). The longer I put off going to the gym/for a run, the worse I felt. The longer I didn't do anything, the longer I continued to feel tired and crappy.


Even if you do not have diagnosed depression, a lack of serotonin (a brain chemical that is in charge of your mood) can mimic depression (Seasonal Affective Disorder, SAD), especially in the winter months. "Reduced exposure to sunlight can cause imbalances of brain chemicals called neurotransmitters, which affect your mood. (How Winter Affects Your Mental Health, University of Cincinnati Health). You can read more about that by clicking on the link I shared. It's a very real thing. Get your exercise people! It is critical for us sunshine lovers (I almost said worshippers... I am basically a sun worshipper... I am so thankful that God gives us sunshine). I'm going to say it louder for the people in the back: GETTING YOUR EXERCISE IS CRUCIAL IN THE WINTER (OR FALL) MONTHS.


The last few weeks, I knew going to the gym would make me feel so much better, I just had such a hard time peeling myself off of the couch. But, this past weekend was opening weekend of rifle season and I spent 90% of my time out in the woods with Hunter. I cannot tell you how much better I feel-- I seriously feel like a different person. I had completely neglected being outside, because I HATE being cold, but I forgot just how essential it was for my mental state. Between Saturday and yesterday, we hiked about 8 miles in the woods to our hunting spots, and the exercise combined with the fresh (chilly) air was exactly what I needed. Tonight, I had no problem going to the grocery store, cleaning up the house when I got home, then getting ready for the gym and doing a little cardio and then a short leg workout.


So, fellow plant-like people, pick yourself up off the couch and get outside (or get to your nearest gym, or workout in your home). Just get your body moving somehow!


Don't be SAD, be BAD 😆 (that's so corny, I can't even...)


xoxo,

LJS

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page